h1

On hold

August 17, 2010

You may have noticed that I haven’t posted anything in quite a while, even though everything has ramped up, what with Summer Preview, orientation, and now classes starting all this month. Well, that’s because I haven’t touched this blog in several weeks. It was absolutely necessary to get everyone and their sometimes well-meaning, sometimes not, advice and opinions out of my head. I realize that many of my new readers consider anything on the internet to be open season and anything goes, but you gotta remember — I consider my blog to be my personal space, and with a lot of the comments, I felt infringed upon. I seriously doubt anyone would be so vocal or adversarial in my home, but for some reason it’s perfectly okay on a stranger’s blog. I don’t agree with that point of view, ’cause at the end of the day you are all guests. The beauty of the blog is that I can turn any part of it off if I want to — and I did consider that.

The bottom line is, I blog for my pleasure alone. When that pleasure is gone, I cease to blog. This isn’t my first blog, nor will it be my last. Never will I blog out of obligation. I owe it to no one to defend or explain myself. In real life, I select my friends very carefully and they are all positive people. Likewise, I am under no obligation to engage negative people in this space, and if they have tainted it, I will move on.

I was just waiting for someone to stop telling me what NOT to do and tell me what I SHOULD do. It’s all well and good to tell me “law school bad,” but pray tell me, which of my alternatives is preferable? If you know so well what is best for me, I would love to hear what better things I could be doing with my life. Sadly, no one offered such advice.

But all that is neither here nor there. It kills me that I have to say this, but the truth is I’m not going to law school. Not this year, anyway. Before anyone gloats, I have to point out that it’s not for any of the reasons anyone tried to convince me. It has nothing to do with school loans and job prospects. It wasn’t reason that won out in the end, it was circumstance. While I would love to imbue you with salaciousness, I can’t do so without revealing personal information about other people close to me, so I won’t get into it. Suffice to say, it has been a hell of a summer. Most of the time, law school was the least of my worries, and in fact would be a welcome distraction.

Ultimately, however, my decision to wait for law school was less of a decision and more the result of manipulation. Besides, I figure law school is hard enough under the best of circumstances; it’s more of a death struggle without the support of a certain key figure. Unfortunately, what happened in the last weeks of July will likely have repercussions for the next couple of decades. Time will tell.

So where do I go from here? Well, I will apply to DU Law again. I will also apply for a Master’s program in Public Policy. I’m reviewing my options and will make a definite decision later, when some of the rawness has scabbed over. In the meantime, I will either find a part-time job or a volunteer position to keep me busy during the kids’ school year. And this time next year, I’ll be ready to embark on my next adventure.

5 comments

  1. With your dignity intact? Are you kidding? You just made the greatest move of your life. You just folded a straight to a full house on the flop. If you don’t play poker, suffice it to say you made an excellent read after ascertaining the facts.

    Listen, I don’t think anyone here wanted to make a personal attack on you. At least, that’s not how I saw it, but I wasn’t the focus of the comments. I honestly believe that that the law student/ recent grad community was coming together and simply warning you about what’s to come.

    Every day, new news stories come out about the bleak futures for law grads who aren’t in the top 5% from the top law schools. Just today, it was revealed that the ABA is looking into accrediting foreign law schools, because, what, we don’t have enough competition from here?

    Do yourself a favor- find out how the ’10 grads of DU are doing a year from now. Go get a graduation booklet; I’m sure they have a list of graduates. Google them in a year. See how many pop up as employees of a law firm.


    • Evrenseven — fuck off.


  2. A.J., I’m sorry that you had to make such a difficult decision. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to go on knowing that you didn’t have the necessary support. I hope that you keep blogging.
    -Elizabeth


  3. This sounds like a difficult situation to be in, I’m sorry that this has happened to you! I hope that you can find a fantastic opportunity for the time when your kids are in school.


  4. Sorry to hear about the circumstances you are facing. I am going through much turmoil myself which prevents me from doing many things this coming year, much to my chagrin. I hope you find a way back to the path you want for yourself.



Comments are closed.

