h1

Fall 2010 Class Schedule

July 2, 2010

I just got my class schedule for the Fall 2010 semester, and I’m absolutely giddy. Don’t ask me why, but this schedule has been the NUMBER ONE thing I have wanted to know for months! So here it is:

  • Lawyering Process – 10:30 a.m., M/W
  • Criminal Law – 2:45 p.m., M/T/Th
  • Civil Procedure – 9:00 a.m., T/Th/F
  • Torts – 10:35 a.m., T/Th/F

Overall, I’m really pleased with this schedule. My two younger kids will be in school from 9:00 to 3:30, and my older child will be able to look after herself, more or less, though it looks like I’ll mostly be around when she’s around.

On Mondays and Wednesdays, I’ll be able to drop my two younger kids off at school and make it in plenty of time for my own classes. On Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, I’ll have to leave the house at 8:00 am for my own class, so I will have to arrange either a friend or “before care” at the school for that hour. However, I expect one child to be in choir on T/Th, starting at 8:00, so it could work out really well, actually.

On Wednesdays and Fridays, I’ll be able to be home in time to get the kids from school. On Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays, I won’t get out of class until almost 4:00, and I won’t get home until at least 4:45. That is where Supportive Hubby comes into play and may have to leave work early to get the kids, or pony up for child care.

There are a few minor challenges with the kids’ schedules, but it could have been much, much worse. I’ll have lots of study time each afternoon, and I will be trying to make the most of it. (I’ll be doing as much as I can AT the school, as opposed to facing distractions like laundry at home.) And I’m thrilled that I have NO 8:00 a.m. classes! Can I get an AMEN?

This is officially what the life of a mom-law student begins to look like. In case you ever wondered.

Update: Now it will be revealed to you just what a dork I am. I spent way too much time on my little visual schedule (which could change, because this schedule is unconfirmed). But I am kinda proud of it. Isn’t it pretty?

5 comments

  1. I remember waiting for my fall class schedule. It was terrible! I just wanted someone to tell me what my days were going to be like. And, like you, as soon as I found out my class schedule, I made up a chart of how I was going to spend my days. I stuck to that schedule for a good portion of my first semester, and when I changed it I made up a new little pretty itinerary to follow. What can I say, I like planning?

    Congratulations on your wonderful class schedule. It really is sort of perfect.


  2. I feel like I can get on with my life now that I have my schedule. LOL


  3. I just wanted to say “hi!” and connect with you, as we seem to be much in the same boat! I’m also 30-something, with 2 kids (although no Supportive Husband (only Unsupportive Ex)), starting law school full time in less than two months. Getting the schedule figured out would be huge! Not only my own, but since we will be moving to a new town and state, the kids’ schedule, too. I will most likely also have to resort to some form of after school care, and I’m crossing my fingers that that will all get sorted out before August 30th…


  4. Hey there! Yes, you will definitely be able to relate to my many scheduling issues as a fellow mom. :-) It sounds like you will have even more to deal with, as you’re moving and a single mom too. Good luck with everything! I hope I don’t hear any childless students moaning about their schedules because I would seriously want to slap them. LOL


  5. Goodluck! You’ll do great. I just posted things I wished I’d known during my 1L year over at reconstructinglawschool.blogspot.com.



Comments are closed.

