h1

Admitted Students Day

April 2, 2010

Today was the open house for DU’s admitted students. I wish I could say it was really interesting, but honestly I found myself straining with impatience at some of the panels’ long, drawn out answers. Informative, yes, but as is usually the case with panels, we could have covered three times the number of questions if the answers had been efficient.

My main takeaway from today: I definitely can do this. In fact, I’m more convinced than ever that my advanced years will give me an edge. And that technical writing experience will likely come in pretty handy, too.

Being the people watcher that I am, I paid a lot of attention to the other prospective students. My initial impression of all of us gathered together was “This is a group of very over-confident and self-assured people.” If anyone had doubts about their abilities, they were hiding it very well.

Someone from DU said this in November: “All incoming law students are used to being in the top 10% of their class. In law school, half those people are going to be in the bottom 50%.” It will be interesting to see how it all pans out.

While some students (like me) don’t really know what they want to specialize in yet, others have a laser-sharp focus. Those also seem to be the same people who seem to be taking it for granted that they’ll be on the Law Review and getting all the clinicals and so forth. It’s great that they have so much energy. Really.

I got to meet someone who is also from Wisconsin (I lived there throughout my junior high and high school years, and college summers). It was fun talking to him and his wife about their coming out to Denver. He had contacted me via LawSchoolNumbers.com, and I literally walked up to him and asked if he’s from Osh Kosh. LOL Whatever works, right? I would have liked to meet more people, but everyone was pretty shy, including me. Oh well, we’ll warm up to each other in August.

Which I’m really starting to look forward to.

