h1

Three years is NOT a long time

March 27, 2010

This is what I tell myself alllll the time. Of course, because I am old(er) I know this to be true.

My youngest child is 6-and-a-half. How the hell did that happen? Where did the time go, and more importantly, when did I get so old?

Time flies, and three years is just a blip. My eldest child is graduating from elementary school in June, for pete’s sake, and I’m pretty sure she was born only about 3 years ago.

Of course, as any mother knows, when you find out you’re pregnant, nine months is literally an eternity. Hindsight be damned, the nine months of pregnancy are the longest months. of. your. life.

Then the baby has colic, and the doc says, “Oh, babies usually outgrow it by the time they’re three months old.” And if you’ve ever had a colicky baby, you know that three months filled with a screaming baby might as well be thirty years.

And then the baby starts teething. They teethe until they are TWO YEARS OLD, people! They cry, they fuss, they drool. They throw tantrums. Fun, fun, fun.

Then it’s time to potty train the baby. And believe me, by the end of the first day (or week, or month), mom is asking herself if her child will ever go in the potty, and if he will be the only one in diapers in his Kindergarten class.

The first three years of a child’s life are the longest three years of a mother’s life. Sure, it speeds up extra fast after that, to make up for lost time I suppose, but many times you feel like you will never reach that next important milestone.

I’m assuming law school will be nothing like this. Right? Right???

3 comments

  1. From what I have heard, I think that once you get past the first year, you’re golden, but much like you are expressing, its probably going to be the longest year of our lives.

    Its all worth it though! 3 years of being tried and tested to do what I want to be doing for the rest of my life sounds like a good deal to me. In the long run, those 3 years will be a blur.


    • My pre-law advisor told me: “The first year, they scare you to death. The second year, they work you to death. The third year, they bore you to death.” I thought that was funny and frightening at the same time. LOL

      Yeah, I think it will be a long three years, but I still say three years is really not very long. Moreover, I have to survive just four months at a time. One semester at a time.


  2. As a 3L, I can tell you that it’s been the longest three years of my life. Semesters may fly by (especially your last one) but mostly, it DRAGS.



Comments are closed.

