h1

Why Law? Part Two

March 21, 2010

My reasons for going into law are pretty fluid. At first, it was an idea: I could do it, so why not try? Then: It could help me achieve my goals. Now: It’s time to get some political balance into the law profession.

After today’s slaughtering of the Constitution by passing the horrifically anti-American health care “reform” bill, I’m mad as hell. I’m pissed off and I don’t want to take it lying down. Then I read a bunch of posts on Twitter in a law student feed, and it pissed me off even more. I’ve never seen so much stupidity coming from a supposedly brainy group of people. I don’t know how representative Twitter is, but it’s become apparent to me that there’s a terrible imbalance of conservative vs. liberal lawyers/law students.

Why is this? Why are conservatives less likely to go into law? This question fascinates me.

I think the answer actually lies in conservative philosophy. I don’t think conservatives are generally activist by nature. Personally, I’d really rather not. I’d prefer to mind my own business and take responsibility for my choices, my family, and my role in the community. That’s a large part of what makes me a conservative. I don’t feel the need to get all up in other people’s business.

It would also help explain why liberals become lawyers. There’s something about liberals that makes them believe they were born to help everyone, regardless of whether they want to be helped. Even if their “help” is misguided and rather more harmful than helpful in the long run, liberals seem to believe that if they are involved in other people’s business for the “greater good” then they must be good people.

Something I’ve touched on before, though, is that I have been searching for something to do to “make a difference.” Do something meaningful. Having been interested in politics since 2000, I’m becoming more convinced every day that what this country needs is more conservative lawyers. Outspoken and organized ones. It’s time to become a conservative activist, if that’s not an oxymoron and get in the game and help defend the Constitution and our people against the anti-liberty attacks coming from the left.

One comment

  1. […] motivations are spelled out here and here and […]



Comments are closed.

