h1

Scholarship!

March 19, 2010

Good lawyers are proactive people, right?

Well, I stewed on it for a couple of weeks, but I have been pretty concerned about not getting a scholarship to DU, if not downright blue about it. So I finally decided I needed to call and see what, if anything, I could do to get one. The questions I had prepared were:

  1. Did I get a scholarship?
  2. Why not?
  3. Will money free up once admitted students withdraw?
  4. When? (Because I am NOT paying a $300 deposit by April 29 without knowing whether I’m getting a scholarship.)
  5. What can I do to improve my chances?
  6. What if I defer for a year? Would that put me at the front of the line for 2011?

I called the Assistant Dean of Admissions (the one who signed my acceptance letter) on Tuesday and left a voice mail. On Wednesday he left me a voice mail while I was at work, stating he would be in the office on Friday. On Friday (today), I left him another voice mail around 9:30 a.m.

At 10:00 a.m., I received an email from DU (different person) stating that I was awarded a $17,000 scholarship! (Read the Scholarship letter here.)

Not two minutes later–seconds after I forwarded the email to my husband–the phone rang, and it was the Asst. Dean. I was happy to tell him that my questions had been answered, as I had just received the award letter. Apparently, the timing was a coincidence, because he didn’t know anything about the email. He said the board may have just now acted on a recommendation he’d made earlier. He was a very nice, personable guy, and we chatted for several minutes.

Whew, I’m so relieved! I’m going to law school!

(Still have to fill out the FAFSA, dagnabbit.)

