h1

Life goes on

February 15, 2010

…with or without law school news. While “wait mode” means little-to-no news on the law school front, that does not mean I’m sitting around twiddling my thumbs!

To give you a peek into my personal life, here’s a little synopsis of how my February is going.

I am the cookie mom for my 11- and 7-year old daughters’ Girl Scout troops. Right now I am up to my eyeballs in spreadsheets and cookie boxes. To be a cookie mom, the most basic requirement is to be organized. I have the most amazing spreadsheets going. What drives me crazy, though, is that while I never have issues with the Brownie troop, the Junior troop’s numbers never add up! I’m driving myself bonkers trying to reconcile everything, and I think the thing I’m meant to learn from this is to just let some things go. After getting off work on Saturdays, I spend the rest of my weekends doing booth sales. Something like 20 booth sales between the two troops.

So, when I’m not stressing over cookie spreadsheets, I’m working on my fifth grader’s science fair project, which is due Wednesday. Now, I don’t know about you, but when I was a kid, science fair projects were strictly for junior high students. What the heck are they doing science fair projects in fifth grade for?! Anyway, my daughter was very intimidated by the project, so I’ve had to hold her hand through the entire thing. Luckily, she picked something very easy to do (bread mold), so the only hard part has been putting the presentation together. She sees words like “hypothesis” and “variables” and freaks out; my job is to rephrase the big words into kid language. The good news is the project is nearly finished and we can relax tomorrow (haha).

And last week all three kids got sick. The vomiting all night kind of sick. That was fun. Today, they are perfectly healthy but constantly whining about “nothing to do.” (Enjoy that while you can, I say!)

Oh, and my husband is trying to decide whether he’ll take the job offer in North Carolina. (Probably not.) And he wants to buy a cabin. I refuse to discuss either situation anymore, because we’ve said everything that needs to be said, and he needs to quit stalling and decide already.

And we just had our taxes done.

And we have a new puppy, who is a lot of fun but also still needs a lot of supervision.

I’m not sure what else is going on because frankly, I can’t remember anything previous to these last 24 hours. Life goes by in a blur, and as soon as one thing is done I’m onto the next. It’s been a month since the pediatrician told me I need to get my daughter in for an x-ray, and I still don’t know when I’m going to get around to it.

If a letter from DU or CU came in the mail, I probably wouldn’t even notice it at this point.

