h1

NY Times article

January 19, 2010

There’s a buzz on Twitter about an article that the New York Times recently published regarding the legal profession; I’m assuming about new law school graduates in particular.

I’m assuming, because I refuse to read that article. Sure, I like to be well-informed, but at this time, I need encouragement, not discouragement. I have heard bad news for lawyers floating around, but guess what? It’s bad news for just about everybody but nurses right now. That’s life.

I’ve also heard that it’s not as bad as they make it out to be.

The bottom line is, I didn’t consult the New York Times when making my decision to go to law school. I consulted my professor, who knows what kind of student I am. I consulted my parents, who know what kind of person I am. I consulted my husband, who knows what kind of ambitions I have. Most of all, I dug deep and asked myself if I can do this–and my heart said “Yes.”

No doomsday prophets for me, thank you! I’ll manage just fine.

Update: One great thing about working at Target is that I’m face-to-face, hand-to-hand with real humanity every day. Do law school grads really have it so bad in the jobs market? I’m sure it’s tough out there. I’m not denying that.

But you know, it’s just heart-breaking when a middle-aged man walks into Target wearing a worn sport coat practially begging for a job, then spends an hour at the application kiosk knowing that his chances of getting a job in January in the retail business are slim-to-none. Even if he did get hired, he’d start at $8/hour.

Lots of people are wearing their best clothes just for walking in and asking if we are hiring. When the few interviews do happen, you can tell they are ready to lay everything on the line. And this is for an $8/hour job.

Update II: Here is an encouraging article from Stanford regarding new graduates’ prospects. Here’s a concept: think more creatively about your law career!

4 comments

  1. When I started nursing school in 1991, I heard from many places that there is a glut of nurses and I’ll have a hard time getting a job. But my heart said, “go”. And you know the rest of the story.


    • Thanks Mom! I’m glad I have people in my life who believe in me and keep me grounded.


  2. I think your truly inspirational and a woman of string will and that’s what it takes to succeed. I made a decision to go to Law school after my first degree but all i heard were prophecies of doom,I wish your blog existed then. Just in time anyway


    • Thank you for your encouraging words, Faye! I’m glad somebody gets it. :-)



Comments are closed.

