h1

Letters of Recommendation

November 16, 2009

Sometimes, I can be the world’s biggest procrastinator, even when it doesn’t make sense. That is why I need to go to school. Like a child, I need a predictable schedule, expectations, and deadlines to keep me from putting things off indefinitely!

Today I finally got all my requests for letters of recommendation (LORs) mailed off. It wasn’t a big deal, but for some reason it took me forever. I have to say, though, it was tough coming up with even TWO people to ask for LORs. That’s because it’s been years since I’ve either worked or gone to school.

I did take the one class in the spring to finish off my degree, and I developed a good rapport with the professor. Before I left school, I asked him if he’d provide a LOR, knowing that no matter what I decided to do, I was in a bind where that was concerned. So that’s one letter down, and an academic one to boot.

Professionally, I had to reach back about five years to when I was doing some freelance copyediting work for a publisher. It’s always kind of awkward contacting someone after that much time, just to get something from them, but I did it. I got my former boss to agree to write a letter, as well as one of the authors I worked closely with. I’m relieved that they both seemed happy to do it!

That more than takes care of my 2-letter requirement, but I am also going to go for a “volunteer” letter, since in the last 5 years I have actually spent more time volunteering for Girl Scouts than I have been working or going to school. And my contribution to that was significant, and I think it matters. So I’m going for it.

That will make a total of four LORs, and now I am just hoping that the letters are impressive! *Fingers crossed*

The only task I have left to do before I apply is to write that Personal Statement. The writing is not the issue–the coming up with a topic is. I need ideas. Help!

