h1

“Discovery Day” Redux

November 7, 2009

Today was DU’s “Discovery Day,” which I attended right after dropping off my husband and 10-year-old daughter at the airport. (Personal Note:) They are going to visit my husband’s father in his homeland of South Africa. Their experience is much more exciting than mine, but I’m enjoying my “day off” (that is, kid-free) nonetheless, as my other two children are with my parents for the weekend.

Going to Discovery Day was good for me. I’ve been suffering from Whatever Syndrome ever since I got my LSAT results, and it felt good to be in the academic environment again. It felt good to focus on school-related things and to be with other like-minded adults. I learned some useful information too: mainly that I need to get the lead out and start writing that personal statement and get those letters of recommendation. With applications, I learned Early is Better. I also learned that even more important than law school GPA is real-world experience, a.k.a. internships, externships, and DU’s student clinic. That’s good to know because I want to put my focus on the right things once I get to law school.

DU has a part-time evening program, which is 4 years instead of the typical 3 years of full-time schooling. A lot of the folks at Discovery Day were interested in that program, which admits only 80 students a year. It’s a good alternative for adults who have to work jobs and fulfill family duties while they go to school. I really considered that for myself, but I was also surprised to learn that in the 2nd and 3rd years (2L and 3L for you non-law school readers) the course schedules are actually very flexible. A student panel talked with us and some of them take night classes in order to free up day hours, and some are even able to schedule most of their classes for just 2 or 3 days a week. According to them, it helps them balance the other parts of their lives.

Talking afterward with a couple of other attendees, I think something a lot of us took comfort in was the fact that NO ONE on the panel knew what they wanted to specialize in when they started law school, and some of them not even until their 3rd year or beyond (an alum was present also). It’s a relief to know that I’m not the only one who has no clue where I’m going with this thing!

There’s a ton more I took away from the experience, but the bottom line is, I’m glad I went because it really helped me to refocus on my goals.

