h1

LSAT Score

October 16, 2009

I was expecting to get my LSAT score by email on Monday, October 19. I got a nice little surprise and received it today, around 9:00 p.m.

157

That is my score. I am still processing this. It’s lower than I was hoping for. 72 percentile. Eh. Right now, I’m not sure what this means for me as far as moving forward with the whole law school thing. My husband wants me to go ahead and apply or even retake the test. I am sort of feeling like I don’t want to. I’ll mull it over.

While a bit disappointed, I’m not surprised. It’s smack-dab in the middle of my prep-test score average. I suppose it’s about what I should have expected, although I felt good about it afterwards, thinking it could be higher than that.

I was happy with my performance on the Reading Comprehension and both Logical Reasoning sections. They were at or even a little above my typical prep-test performances. But the fifth section, the last one, was my most difficult–Analytical Reasoning (a.k.a. “logic games”). I don’t know exactly what happened, but I crashed and burned on that section. If I could have held to my prep-test average for that section, I would have scored around a 160. But I was fatigued at that point, and it’s my weakest area. Out of 23 questions, I only got 9 right. I have NEVER done that badly before. I have NEVER gotten more than half of the questions wrong–even if I didn’t finish. I’m a little annoyed with myself because I changed a lot of answers in that section, and it turns out that for four of them, I changed the answer from right to wrong. ANNOYING! Too much second-guessing myself, I suppose.

I needed 5 more correct answers in order to score a 160, which was my minimum goal. Just five more!

4 comments

  1. Keep at it! We super-achievers always want more for ourselves and are disappointed when we don’t get it…the first time. Don’t quit!


  2. I agree with the previous poster. I bombed the September test after 5 months of studying. This is hard coming from an over-achiever/perfectionist. So, I’m retaking in December and hoping for at least a 7-10 point increase.


  3. […] 30-Something Law Student official reaction to her LSAT experience: […]


  4. I am also 30 something. I took the test this past September. I got a 160 and I am retaking it.

    If you did not take a full class you might want to consider doing that.

    Don’t give up :)



Comments are closed.

