h1

LSAT Run-down

September 26, 2009

After weeks of preparing for the LSAT, it is over. I took the test earlier today, and now all I can do is wait for the results. I feel pretty good about it. I am expecting a decent score.

Check-in was scheduled for 8:30, so I left the house at 7:30, giving myself plenty of time to get there, find parking, and find the building. Even though I arrived at the site just before 8:00, I wasn’t even close to being one of the first ones there. The building was already lined with people at that point. They began checking us in a few minutes after that, and just after 10:00 a.m. we began taking the test. Yes, it took about two hours to check everyone in. There were a lot of people there–I’m estimating anywhere between 300 and 500. And they had two–count e’m–TWO people checking everyone in.

And all those strict rules about what we can bring in to the testing area? No one checked. I could have brought anything and no one would have noticed.

Once the test started, it felt like it went by quickly. The first three sections, before the break, I felt I did really well on. I finished all of them early enough to go back and check my answers, and I’m pretty confident that I did quite well on those sections. They were 1 Reading Comprehension section and 2 Logical Reasoning secions.

Then we had a 15 minute break during which I found I got my period. Nice. No big deal, though, I was prepared. And most importantly, I didn’t have cramps. For the break, we were told to bring “a snack,” but of course it ended up being lunch. Some poor folks had just a little granola bar if anything at all. I’m glad I brought an apple, cashews, and a Snickers bar. It got me through.

After the break there was yet another Logical Reasoning section, and I have to say by the end of that one, my brain was starting to wear down a little bit. I think I still did pretty strongly though. The fifth and last section was the dreaded Analytical Reasoning section. That is my weakest area. In hindsight, though, I’m glad it came last because if I felt I did poorly on that section it could have affected my confidence through the rest of the test. The proctor apparently made a mistake with timing. When she announced the 5-minute warning, a tester objected and said we actually had 10 minutes left. I have no idea if that was actually true, but it worked in my favor. I finished the section and had time to go back and check some answers. It’s a good thing, too, because there were several I’d gotten wrong the first time around.

The last part was the Writing topic, and I have to confess, I never actually practiced the writing section at all during my preparations. Writing is a strength of mine and I was going to lean on that while I worked harder in the tougher sections (anything to do with logic, basically). This section is not scored but it is shown to the law schools so they can assess your writing ability. I’m pretty sure I rocked that part, if I do say so myself. I wrote a solid piece and frankly I’m glad I didn’t waste time writing practice essays.

And that’s it! We were done at about 2:30 and I was only too happy to go home at that point. I felt a bit of an adrenaline rush at the end of it all, and like I said, I think I’ll be happy with my score. Can’t wait to see it on the 19th of October!

(I understand if the play-by-play is a bit boring for you–I’m writing this down for my own sake more than for entertainment purposes. It’ll be interesting (to me) to look back and remember this day that was such a big deal for me.)

One comment

  1. Not to get you overconfident, but people who are confident they did well, usually are happy when they get their score.



Comments are closed.

