h1

Bias

June 4, 2009

As I’ve been contemplating what I want to say in my personal statement, I’ve found myself trying to figure out how to couch terms in ways that I think will be appealing to the admissions committees. In other words, I’m trying to figure out how to disguise my being a Christian Conservative so that they’ll accept me.

I assume there’s anti-Christian/Conservative bias in universities, and CU’s admissions pages lead me to believe they are biased as well (lots and lots of emphasis on “diversity” and such). Maybe I am wrong. I hope so. I don’t want to hide who I am in order to get accepted. Maybe I underestimate them. It’s an interesting connundrum. I didn’t even realize what I was doing at first.

So the question is: Do I be bold about my intentions for my law career, or do I tell them what they want to hear, just to get in? After which point I can take what path I like. Hmmm…

