h1

First investment

June 3, 2009

I plunked down my first chunk of change towards law school this evening. I finally managed to get over to LSAC.org (Law School Admission Council), which is basically a central location for law school applicants to work from. I paid $121 to register for the LSDAS Credential Assembly Service, and $134 to register to take the LSAT. September 26 is the big day. I’ve got a little less than four months to get ready.

The LSDAS is a place where you enter your school information, gather letters of recommendation, and send transcripts. They then assemble a report on you and send it to the law schools to which you are applying, or those that ask for it. It automates a lot of things and makes it easier on the law schools.

I had a slight hiccup recently when I discovered that the transcript I’d sent from MSCD to my alma mater, Evangel, a year ago did not come through. I requested a new one be sent nearly two weeks ago. I won’t know if it arrived until next week, when Evangel’s registrar returns from her vacation. My Regis transcript did go through, though, and I’m thrilled about that! So my degree is delayed a few weeks because of MSCD, but I’m hoping next week it will be resolved.

Those are three A’s that will be added to my 3.5 GPA at Evangel. It won’t change my GPA by much, but it can’t get any worse!

I’ve decided that everyone should at least take a course or two in their 30s. Taking that class and finally getting my degree is so much more intensely important and gratifying to me than when I was 20.

As to my progress since my last post, well … there isn’t any. I’m kind of stumped on my personal statement. I have written down a lot of ideas, and every time I have a flash of insight or inspiration, I write it down in case I want to use it later. That’s about all I can do right now. It will take me several months to get things formulated in my head. Here’s the requirement as described by CU:

REQUIRED PERSONAL ESSAY: At Colorado Law, we strive to enroll students who advance our core values of character, diversity, leadership, and commitment to service. Explain how admitting you to Colorado Law will contribute to this goal. The personal statement should be no longer than 1,000 words.

Should be easy, right? Ha. DU’s is less explicit, which means I can likely use the same personal statement for both schools, as long as I make it good.

As for preparing for the LSAT, I admit I haven’t done much of that. I’ve read over a sample test, and three of the four parts look very do-able. I feel confident I can do well on those parts. But the “Analytical Reasoning” part — yikes. I have to work at it, and the only thing I can really do is practice. I’ve been feeling the urge to get going on that, so once the kids are out of school I will be spending more time on that. I have no choice, really.

